4 UGA Football Players Arrested… Progress?

“I’m Ron Burgundy?”

I came across this meme a couple of weeks ago and it summed up my sentiments:

20140318-125203.jpg

Then I get a text from my sister about this nonsense:

More arrests at Georgia, and Herbstreit jumps Richt
“According to University of Georgia Police, three of the players were depositing their regularly-scheduled stipend checks on their mobile phone banking apps, then taking them to a local convenience story for cashing immediately afterward, effective cashing the checks twice. One other player, wide receiver Uriah LeMay, was retrieving a roommate’s already-cashed check and cashing it at a convenience store.”

As of this moment, I am at the Athens-Clarke County Police Department looking at the UGA Football Player section in the UGA Crimes filing cabinet looking at the arrest records of a safety, a wide receiver and two defensive linemen. I would make the joke that, “A safety, a wide receiver and two defensive linemen walk into an Athens downtown bar…” but I immediately found that very same police report a couple of folders back.

I am also trying to get permission to visit the three players that used their mobile banking app to deposit the money and asked them if they use Wells Fargo. Because I don’t know about you, but my mobile deposit/Take a picture of your checking “thingy” is not working and I simply cannot be bothered to climb in my car and go to the actual bank to deposit my money. It’s not good for the environment.

The only time I have taken a jibe from Steve Spurrier was when he said, “… I sort of always liked playing them that second game because you could always count on them having two or three key players suspended.” It has been said that people do not get mad when you tell lies about them; they get mad when you tell the truth about them.

I try to place myself in a player’s shoes and try to think about how I would take on the fame of being a UGA Football Player. I am not sure I could handle it. But there has to be a level of expectation that more will be required of you when you have more responsibilities in life. While being a UGA Football player might not pay the bills, (In this case it might) but it is a position of :

20140318-124844.jpg

It’s the same as being a GA Tech Football player but with self-esteem, pride, confidence, self-worth, self-respect, importance, significance, competence, and being able to attract girls within their own university.

Mark Richt will no doubt suspend these players and unlike some other coaches, he’ll do it at a time when we really need these players. But as someone who is indebted to the University… literally… pay my loans… I would like nothing more than to throw off this reputation as a University where its football players can minor in criminal justice from first hand experience.

On a lighter note, this could be a sign that the atmosphere in the UGA locker room is getting better. I don’t know about you, but I’ll take Theft By Taking in the amount $71.50/check over:

– Engaging in happy hands at an Athens bar

– Selling championship rings on eBay

– Public Drunkenness

– DUI

– Weed possession

– Sexual assault

– Invading Crimea

The silver lining not withstanding, I am hoping that the University can clean up the culture and cultivate character in all of our players because character in sports is always something we need. That and a National Championship.

Leave a Reply

