If You Like Your Plan, You Can (Sort of) Keep It

mar08-11-1280During World War II, American commentator Will Rogers responded to a reporter’s question on how he would deal with the Nazi U-boats: 

“Boil the ocean.” 

“But how would you do that?” the reporter continued. 

Without skipping a beat Rogers replied, “I’m just the idea man here. Get someone else to work out the details.”

When it comes to the Affordable Care Act (Obamacare) I would say I am fairly knowledgeable in that I am familiar about how the program is funded.  It is an entitlement program, like Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, etc. so it is not hard to see how the game is rigged.  But when it comes to my own personal insurance, I am very clueless. I am a “Boil the Ocean” type of guy. Never the less, I lost my insurance because of Obamacare.

Yes I am still insured, but the coverage is not the same.  I realized this when my friend, TED, received news what of his insurance will and will not cover.  Needless to say, TED is furious.  At the end of his tirade, he stated, “Obama just made me a Republican.”

 

What TED’s insurance covered in 2013 will not be covered in 2014.  His deductibles are through the roof.

The coverage that I am now under is the result of Obamacare pushing out certain insurance companies, so I am left with the insurance that I currently have.  It has very high deductible and does not offer the kind of coverage that I once had.

 

If you like your doctor, you will be able to keep your doctor, period. If you like your healthcare plan, you’ll be able to keep your healthcare plan. – President Obama

 

I was always skeptical of that remark, but in hindsight, it makes absolute sense!  How can he guarantee that I will be able to keep what I have when he is not the one giving it to me?

 

I was happy with the insurance I had.  It covered what I needed.

 

Like I said, I need to educate myself on my new policy in order to give a more balanced account on what exactly is going on.  I believe that Obamacare is incredibly bad for the country, regardless of how it affects me personally.

If after my research I find out that it is not as bad as I thought, I will disclose as much as I can without you, the reader, getting into my biznazzz!  But I will still hold the opinion that adding another entitlement program on top of a heavily indebted country is not a good thing.

shutterstock_65582995

Leave a Reply

