Beware of Christians in Restaurants

Blog Rating

Blogs are places to post low-carb/gluten free recipes and air 9.14.DreadChristianTippers_421528095grievances, so I it’s not my fault, I am only doing what blogs were made for. But I ran across this article on Facebook by one of my friends and it made my blood boil. Since I am mad, you might as know it… BLOG BLOG BLOG.

leaving-a-tip-at-a-restaurantThis phenomenon of bad Christian behavior in restaurants was brought to my attention back in my Vineyard Church of Augusta days. The pastor at the time informed his departing congregation to be sure to tip really well if they were going out to eat for lunch because Christians, more often than not, are really bad tippers. I thought that was an odd blanket statement to make but as I went on through the years, I kept hearing this same stereotype that Sundays are bad tip days because of those darn followers of Jee-sahs.

I must confess that I have personally do not have this problem but it 10023has everything to do with my earthly and heavenly father. My Dad taught me that I should be generous to those that work hard. And my God taught me that all money belongs to He (or Him, not sure at the moment) and that I am only the manager of what he allows me to have. And, on a selfish level, I’ll tip anyone in the service industry that will put up with me.

544171_453425841430201_1880158113_nHaving this embarrassing (t)ruth about Christian tippers in the back of my mind, I come across an article about a man not tipping a waitress because of her “lifestyle.”A waitress in New Jersey who previously served in the Marines received an offensive note from a family who denied her a tip because of her “gay lifestyle.” Now, she is speaking out against those very people whose freedom she once defended.

alec-baldwin-mad-for-iphone-24megabytesFor the sake of disclosure, though the article said these were Christian diners, judging by Alec Baldwin’s latest antics, he simply might not have liked this woman’s service.

In my Christian Community (Mostly Conservative Theologically/Traditional Marriage), I cannot not think of a single imagesperson that would deny someone a tip just because of their lifestyle unless their lifestyle compels them to serve me food in this manner. For the record, how does anyone really know anyone’s lifestyle just by them serving food?! For me, as long as a waitress/waiter keeps my cup filled with aspartame infused Diet Coke and does not try to make small talk with me, he/she is going to get a good tip. If I adopt the mindset that I will only be served food at a restaurant by only people whose lifestyle I agree with, then I am going to sit there and starve.

cfiles10432-e1266448051938Now granted, these patrons have every right to be stingy with their money, but if they really want to vent their displeasure by sitting on their wallets, then they might want to show a little consistency in their convictions. What if the cook that warmed up their food was Wiccan? Do these people know if the assembly line worker who packaged the pen he wrote this message with was gay? Maybe the guy who invented receipt paper for the credit card machine was a pedophile. Maybe the hostess that showed them to their table was straight but had just done a line of cocaine in the staff break room. Maybe the manager of the restaurant planned on visiting a house of ill refute after he got off working a double. The point is, while you think you know something about someone, you really do not know what’s going on in there lives.

Consider the Parable of the Good Samaritan in the Gospel of 1284704258_1361143382Luke 10: 25-37. Can you imagine how different the story would have been if the man, who had just been beaten, stripped and robbed had declined the Samaritan’s help by saying, ‘Sorry, I cannot receive your help because I do not agree with your lifestyle and the way you live your life.’”

leaving-a-tip-at-a-restaurantDid it not occur to these patrons that the Gospel was in direct conflict in the ways they lived their lives before Christ (If they have truly accepted it)? These people did not make a stand for Christ but instead made a stand against something that bothers them.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/11/14/dayna-morales-marine-tip-gay-lifestyle_n_4273801.html

Leave a Reply

