UGA Bulldogs, Aaron Murray & Star Wars

UGA STAR WARS

From the Casual Observer

frustration20logoI was thinking this morning about the Bulldogs loss to Clemson last night and I was trying to think of an analogy to help cope with reality. Most sports nuts would either point to a similar team or a player from a bygone era to make sense of it all when their team loses despite great expectations. Me, not having played the sport, not knowing all the positions, plays and lingo, I turn to something I can understand… movies. For the wise speak of only what they know. – JRR Tolkien

When comes to Georgia Football, I celebrate when we win and go down with the Titanic when we lose but that’s not titanic-going-downto say that I won’t be ranting on the way down. I love the University of Georgia and only a small portion of that love is because I owe them money. The Grand Marshall that of the University is football. #Duh As a devoted fan, I critique those I love. And coming from someone whose main sport was swimming, take my rants for what they are worth. But if you are a nerd or someone who loves analogies, then hopefully you will follow along with me.

starwarstrilogy

Aaron Murray and the Georgia Bulldog team are like the original Star Wars Trilogy. In a nutshell, it’s a dramatic saga about hope, loss, and major disappointment coupled with a somewhat happy ending.

Aaron Murray is Luke Skywalker (Starkiller for the super nerds). Here we see this young man full of promise and talent. He is not such a bad pilot and he LOVES going to the Tosche Station to purchase power converters. Next thing you know, he is injected into a war against a mighty foe with his homies the Rebel Alliance. In the beginning, there were some major wins but the battle is far from over. But Vader did escape (#NationalChampionship). Next Luke is taken to see Yoda and is taught the ways of the force.

LUKE

(a little angry)

Oh, come on. How could you know my father? You don’t even know who I am. (fed up)

Oh, I don’t know what I’m doing here. We’re wasting our time.

creature turns away from Luke and speaks to a third party.

Creature

(irritated)

I cannot teach him. The boy has no patience.

Luke’s head spins in the direction the creature faces. But there is no one there. The boy is bewildered, but it gradually dawns on him that the little creature is Yoda, the Jedi Master, and that he is speaking with Ben.

BEN’S VOICE

He will learn patience.

YODA

Hmmm. Much anger in him, like his father.

BEN’S VOICE

Was I any different when you taught me?

YODA

Hah. He is not ready.

LUKE

Yoda! I am ready. I… Ben! I can be a Jedi. Ben, tell him I’m ready.

to see Ben, Luke starts to get up but hits his head on the low ceiling.

YODA

Ready, are you? What know you of ready? For eight hundred years have I trained Jedi. My own counsel will I keep on who is to be trained! A Jedi must have the deepest commitment, the most serious mind.

(to the invisible Ben, indicating Luke)

This one a long time have I watched. All his life has he looked away… to the future, to the horizon. Never his mind on where he was. Hmm? What he was doing. Hmph. Adventure. Heh! Excitement. Heh! A Jedi craves not these things.

(turning to Luke)

You are reckless!

looks down. He knows it is true.

BEN’S VOICE

So was I, if you’ll remember.

YODA

He is too old. Yes, too old to begin the training.

thinks he detects a subtle softening in Yoda’s voice.

LUKE

But I’ve learned so much.

turns his piercing gaze on Luke, as though the Jedi Master’s huge eyes could somehow determine how much the boy had learned. After a long moment, the little Jedi turns toward where he alone sees Ben.

YODA

(sighs)

Will he finished what he begins?

LUKE

I won’t fail you – I’m not afraid.

YODA

(turns slowly toward him)

Oh, you will be. You will be..

If you are still following, bring to your mind the scene where Luke is stacking rocks on top of one another using the force.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

I do not think I am way off base in my “professional” analysis. Every year, we have great hope in our Bulldogs, and

sabanx-largethere are some major victories and surprises. Last year was a great example of how I thought we were off to a another mediocre season but it turned out to be amazing! True self-loathing pessimists love it when they are wrong. But again, and again, our great hope and expectations never seemed to be rewarded with a National Championship. It’s like going all the way, but not quite ALL the way. Atlanta Braves fans are familiar with this notion.

We have a great team this year, but they kept tripping over their feet last night at some key plays. It is one thing to lose when the other team is simply better than you. It is quite another to lose because of nerves and bumbles. #thankyoucaptainobvious

ku-mediumNow if you follow my analogy to its conclusion, Aaron Murray will get this hand chopped of by his arch enemy who turns out to be his father and who he eventually leads out of darkness into the georgia-si-1980light. In a sense, maybe the Bulldawg Nation is Darth Vader and we are desperately waiting for someone to lead us into the light. And that light is being reflected off the National Championship Trophy. Our National Championship back in the 80’s was great, but I was barley 3 months old at the time, and, you know, isn’t the National Championship about me!? Dorks like me, along with the rest of the Bulldawg Nation, are looking for that big win. Maybe we need to change our expectations and cheer the Dawgs to victory in games they play now and the championship will come later. Then again, this is the SEC and we really HATE other teams.

I will always donate Red & Black Blood, but I gotta whine, yell at the moon, and curse at the wind every once in a while.

werewolf

G. E. O. RRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR. I (Wait, G) I. A.

Gooooooooooooooooooooooooooo Dawgs, Sic ‘Em, Whoof! Whoof! Whoof!

Leave a Reply

